Grading Syllabus

There is no such thing as a "grading syllabus". A better phrase would be "training guidance". As you mature in your training, you will quickly realise that there is no such thing as a "style" of training, there is only the practitioner's perspective. The principles remain the same - irrespective of whether you practice karate-do, judo, kendo, aikido, shintaido etc. The "training guidance" that we refer to is simply the teacher's perspective on training. They have already walked the path of learning that you are on, so they are in a position to guide you in your training.

Here are the things that you will be taught in this club:

  • Kokoro (spirit, character, attitude, behaviour etc.)
  • Kenko taiso (health exercises and fitness)
  • Kata (set forms)
  • Kihon (basic techniques)
  • Kumite (partner practice) including iai (minimal distance training)
  • Kobudo (weapons):

          - Bojutsu (the art of the long wooden staff called a bo)

          - Jojutsu (the art of the short wooden staff called a jo)

          - Kenjutsu (the art of the sword)

Unification_of_the_martial_arts: At the highest level, students are taught to bring together the principles and practice of all the above arts so that they are no longer separate entities, but where one practice flows into the other.

The training syllabus can be found here. Please contact the senior coach regarding viewing the files.

Grading Procedure

Each student is assessed on their individual abilities and then awarded a pass or fail in the grading itself (for belts/stripes). There are six key areas of development that are assessed:

  • Kenko taiso
  • Kata
  • Kihon
  • Kumite
  • Kobudo
  • Kokoro

Awards & Prizes for children

If a student has done particularly well in a key area of development, he/she may be awarded a certificate of merit.

Any student who has achieved one or more certificates of merit is eligible to be considered for a gold or silver medal. However, unlike the merit awards which are based on the student's own performance, the medals are awarded based on how well the student has done compared to his/her peers within his/her own skill group. There are three groups:

  • Junior grades : white, red and yellow belt students all come under this category.
  • Intermediate grades : orange, green and purple belt students all come under this category.
  • Senior grades : blue, brown and black belt students all come under this category.

The gold medal is awarded to the student who has performed the best in their category/group. The silver medal is awarded to the next best student in the category/group. Finally, all medal winners are considered for the highest honour in the club: the budoka medal. This is given to the student who has made the most overall progress in all the key areas of development. Only one such medal will be awarded per year. Occasionally and exceptionally, a non-medal winner may be considered for the budoka medal (if they have not excelled in 1 area of development but have made good progress across all the key areas of development).

Further details may be found here.